Elder Armantrout!

When we  found out that Spencer’s trainer is from Richmond, Virginia, I emailed my brother, Geoff. He validated my suspicions – Elder Armantrout is from a family that the Tubbs family knows and loves! His grandfather, Gene, presided as Bishop over my father’s funeral, Geoff and Juli’s wedding, and Becky and Wayne’s wedding!

Here is an excerp of Elder Armantrout’s letter home on 10/1/2012:

 

Salutations! (what a silly word)

      This week has been AWESOME. My new companion’s name is Elder Tubbs. He is from Provo, UT, and he’s a pretty cool kid. It’s funny, because everything that I was expecting about training again was kind of blown out the window when I met this new Elder. I didn’t realize it at the time, but I was subconsciously expecting him to be like Elder Top- goofy, witty, outgoing, etc. But he’s not Elder Top. He’s quiet and a bit shy, but he has a very humble and sincere desire to work hard and to be obedient. It became very clear to me what parents mean when they talk about how you cannot parent any two children the same. Sure, there are some universal principles, but for the most part, you have to learn every new child. Training new missionaries is exactly like that. It has been cool to see him come out of his shell with me in the course of just a few days, and as he opens up, I see his potential to be a really stellar missionary.
          The first part of the week was spent getting ready for transfers (aka getting Scoubes packed and saying goodbyes, and not doing much in the way of missionary work), so when Elder Tubbs showed up, we had some hustling to do. And hustle we did. The very first night (Thursday) we went out and were trying to contact some potential investigators. That fell through, so we said a quick prayer that we would be able to find someone to teach. We were in this trailer parkat the time, and I felt impressed to knock on the door of a particular trailer. So, I told Elder Tubbs- “Elder, you’re going to go and knock that trailer.” He went a bit deer in the headlights at first, but he did it. AND WE GOT IN. The VERY FIRST DOOR he knocked. We taught the Restoration to a guy named Carol (I know, I didn’t believe it either). Carol is a Junior at NWMSU and is studying to be a dietitian. He accepted a copy of the Book of Mormon and said he’d read and pray about it. We hope that when we contact him later this week, he will have actually read and prayed. Either way, that’s not bad for your first door.”

Categories: Letters | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

